NLP New Logo Final.png

Anil Thomas

Master NLP Practitioner & Gestalt Therapist

What are the different types of dissociative disorders?

The different types of dissociative disorders are Dissociative identity disorder, Dissociative amnesia, Depersonalization/derealization disorder.

Dissociative identity disorder.

Dissociative identity disorder is categorised by overwhelming experiences, traumatic events and/or abuse that faced in childhood. Dissociative identity disorder was previously referred to as multiple personality disorder.

Dissociative amnesia.

Dissociative amnesia involves not being able to recall information about oneself (not normal forgetting). This amnesia is usually related to a traumatic or stressful event

Depersonalization/derealization disorder.

Depersonalization/derealization disorder involves significant ongoing or recurring experience of one or both conditions:

Depersonalization – experiences of unreality or detachment from one’s mind, self or body. People may feel as if they are outside their bodies and watching events happening to them.

Derealization – experiences of unreality or detachment from one’s surroundings. People may feel as if things and people in the world around them are not real.

Related articles

Want to know more?

Call us at   +91 9930 7484 10

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Copyright © 2013-2020 Anil Thomas. All Rights Reserved