top of page

Gestalt FAQ's / Help Center

Related Questions

What are the 5 types of contact boundaries?

Following are the five types of contact boundaries:

  • Body

Body boundary is where the sensation is limited to individual experience.

  • Value

This is when the client is reluctant to or declines any modification in their boundary, for some people have rigid perceptions and morale.

  • Familiarities

An action an individual performs on a daily basis is not given much thought as they are not consciously aware of it.  What happens is when something happens in the life of the person and there is a sudden change, they don't know how to deal with it as most of the action they were taking was without any awareness. We cling to what we know rather than to venture out into unfamiliar boundaries.

  • Expressive

Expressive boundaries, physical contact, verbal contact, emotion expression like crying or laughing, are the thoughts formed in childhood. These are all the range of things that are not allowed. The self is not a structure, it is a process, and whilst you do lose your identity to expand the I- Boundary, this allows the self to develop.

  • Exposure boundaries

When a person comes to accept all his variety of beings, then he can be exposed without a problem.

bottom of page