top of page

Gestalt FAQ's / Help Center

Related Questions

3 levels of mind according to Freud.

The three levels of the awareness of mind, according to Sigmund Freud, are:

  • The preconscious

The preconscious consists of anything that could potentially be brought into the conscious mind.

  • The conscious

The conscious mind contains all of the thoughts, memories, feelings, and wishes of which we are aware at any given moment. This is the aspect of our mental processing that we can think and talk about rationally. This also includes our memory, which is not always part of consciousness but can be retrieved easily and brought into awareness.

  • The unconscious

The unconscious mind is a reservoir of feelings, thoughts, urges, and memories that are outside of our conscious awareness. Most of the contents of the unconscious are unacceptable or unpleasant, such as feelings of pain, anxiety, or conflict.

bottom of page